Skip to content

2023 yearly write-up

December 31, 2023

Fallen leaves on the pavement, in green, yellow, red, brown and whiteI’ve not done one of these for a couple of years, despite keeping notes each year of what I get up to with my writing, so I think now’s a good time to do one.

2023 has been another trash fire of a year for me, if I’m honest. It’s just been one thing after the next and I really hope 2024 will be even a little better as I’m more than overdue a rest. Maybe the fact that I’m writing this whilst in the middle of the worst surgery recovery I’ve ever experienced is souring my mood a little, but oh well, I’m only human.

Between two major surgeries and freelancing, this year I’ve still managed to:

  • Publish a limited edition tenth anniversary version of my novel Spirit Houses, complete with companion zine and merch line
  • Write 16 new short stories
  • Make a decent dent in a new novella
  • Get a single author collection accepted for publication (and then sadly had to pull it – if anyone is looking to publish a collection of queer folk horror stories, please get in touch!)
  • Make 139 submissions for publication
  • Had 13 acceptances for publication
  • And had 10 things published.

I don’t think that’s bad going, considering.

My new stuff out this year was:

  • Ash Bark (short story) 2023 Sans. PRESS ‘Another Name for Darkness’
  • Keep off the Rain (short story) 2023 Eregendal ’30 Years of Chester Writers’
  • What it Takes to Stay Wild (flash fiction) 2023 ‘Worlds of Possibility’
  • Roots (short story) 2023 Egaeus Press ‘Unquiet Grove’
  • Paper Coins (short story) 2023 Nosetouch Press ‘The Fiends in the Furrows III: Final Harvest’
  • If You Put it On (flash fiction) 2023 Anxiety Press, Outcast Press, and Roi FainĂ©ant Press ‘Mirrors Reflecting Shadows’ (proceeds to The Trevor Project)
  • Of Water (short story – podcast) 2023 The Other Stories Listen FREE here
  • I Could Be Cruel (short story) 2023 Erro Press ‘Flint Magazine Volume 1’
  • Own You (short story) 2023 Tea, but with Coffee Media ‘Living With Demons’
  • Saint Nic of the Yard (short story) 2023 Ex Parrot Press ‘His Soul’s Still Dancing’
  • Waifs (short story – podcast) 2023 The Other Stories Listen FREE here

My new year’s resolution for 2024 is to not put pressure on myself and to try and relax more, so I’m not gonna make any further promises than that – but hopefully I’ll write something next year.

This new year’s eve is going to be my quietest one to date, which I guess I’ll just hopefully have to make up for next year. I hope that everyone reading this has a good one, and all the very best for a peaceful, fulfilling and contented 2024.

No comments yet

Leave a comment