Skip to content

Spirit Houses X zine out – 1 WEEK LEFT to order!

November 14, 2023

Update: book pre-order now closed! Watch this space for how you can still get merch and zines while stocks last!

It’s taken me a while longer than I’d have liked, but I’m pleased to say that the Spirit Houses X zine is now go – so here it is!

Copies of Spirit Houses - both normal version (black cover with white eyes) and anniversary X variant (white cover with black eyes) and limited edition companion zine 'DPM Field Guide to the treatment of Paranatural Citizens'

The photo shows the regular issue Spirit Houses (which is always available online) plus the super limited edition tenth anniversary Spirit Houses X cover variant, and its matching, limited edition handmade companion zine.

This zine has been a bit of a labour of love – I’ve never made one so packed with text and illustrations before! It’s a tiny 16-page treasure, written, illustrated and assembled by me. Each one has to be hand-folded and stapled, then I cut the pages with a straight razor, number the inside cover, sign the cartouche on the back and block-print the front panel with a stamp I hand-carved. Each page details a different citizen of the Spirit Houses universe, from demons to placeholders.

You can get hold of this limited edition (I’m only printing a handful, so be quick if you want one!) zine for just £5 each (I know it’s tiny, but it’s a piece of handmade art for just the price of a beer or a greeting card!) It’s also available as part of a few different bundles along with the limited edition variant cover or other Spirit Houses X merch.

You can also scroll to the bottom of this page for a refresher.

PLEASE NOTE: this pre-order is only open until November 21st, so don’t sleep on it! (And if you love me, please don’t leave it til the 21st either..!) After that date, the Spirit Houses X variant cover will (and I cannot stress this enough!) never be available again.

Here’s some more photos of the zine to tempt you! (Please excuse the terrible lighting in my English November house!) You can click on each photo to embiggen and get more info.

A reminder of how to order and what’s on offer!

  1. Check out the photos, then choose from the list of options what you would like to buy.
  2. Email me at die.booth[at]gmail.com with what you would like (including any personalisations in signing, style of bookmark etc) and your postal address.
  3. I will then email you back with a quote for your merch plus postage, and my PayPal address. This is to ensure that postage is as correct as possible. If you end up overpaying postage, I’ll refund you the difference.
  4. You may then either decline to buy (if postage is too high – I will understand!) or pay me via PayPal (friends and family much preferred, or I get charged fees that really cut into the tiny profit I’m making).
  5.  Tracked postage for a book is now typically around £5 UK and £18 US, with everywhere else somewhere in between, but that’s a rough guideline depending on what you order. I will endeavour to get you the cheapest postage possible, but it will be sent tracked. I regret that I am only able to take payment via PayPal (or you can give me cash in person if you know me) and ONLY ORDERS PAID FOR IN ADVANCE WILL BE PLACED, sorry guys I really do need payment in advance for this one so I can pay for the books to be printed!
  6. I will then order your books and make up your merch. I’m anticipating making book orders on 21st  November.
  7. I will then ship your books (and everything else) as soon as I receive and sign them. I’m anticipating making signed book shipments on around 17th November and 8th December. If you are local I am of course more than happy to pass on stuff in person.
  8. I’ll keep you updated at all stages, and will send you your tracking number when I post your order.
  9. Thank you so much to anyone who actually buys stuff in this pre-order, like, seriously – you rule.

The menu!

  • Spirit Houses X – 298 Pages, 6 x 9″, signed limited edition paperback, matte cover, full internal black and white illustrations. £13
  • SHX zine – 16 pages, 4 x 2.5″, handmade signed and numbered limited edition zine, hand printed cover. £5
  • Spirit Houses badge – 1″ button pin badge, choose from: DPM teal logo, blue lover’s eye, brown lover’s eye, or heart in hand. £1.50 each
  • Spirit Houses badge set – all 4 designs for £5
  • SHX vinyl sticker – 3×3″ vinyl sticker – £3
  • SHX eye tooth sticker strip – 4 paper stickers, 1.5″, handprinted with handmade stamps – £2
  • SHX snake staff sticker strip – 5 paper stickers, 1.25″, handprinted with handmade stamps – £2
  • Bookmark – luggage tag bookmark, handprinted with a Spirit Houses design by me, choose design (snake staff large, snake staff small, eyes and tooth in red or green, heart in hand or little demon) and tassel charm (eye, inkpot or skull) or random surprise design will be sent – £4
  • Eyes bracelet – handmade to order by me. Let me know your wrist size and if you prefer wooden or acrylic beads – £5
  • Evil eye crochet coaster – handmade to order by me. Perfect for resting a nice mug of tea on! – £5
  • Book and zine bundle – £17
  • Book, badge and bookmark bundle (specify badge and bookmark choice) – £17
  • Book, sticker/s and bookmark bundle (specify sticker/s and bookmark choice) – £18
  • Book, zine, badge and bookmark bundle (specify badge and bookmark choice) – £21
  • Zine, badge and bookmark bundle (specify badge and bookmark choice) – £9
  • ANY OF MY OTHER BOOKS IN PRINT, SIGNED – if you’d like a signed copy of any of my other print titles, now is the time to let me know. They make great Christmas gifts! Prices are: Cool S £6, Making Friends £7, My Glass Is Runn £6, 365 Lies £8, Spirit Houses regular edition £10 and you can read more about them all on this website or here on my Lulu page.
No comments yet

Leave a comment