Skip to content

Flip the mainstream – underground 5ever!

May 1, 2015

So, my terrible blog titles are probably one of the things that marketers would probably point out as holding me back from writing success, but you know what – I don’t care! Here are some fantastic things that this indie writer is digging this week:

  • I was honoured to be the first reader at the first ever Voices from the Reading Room, which took place last Monday in the gorgeous surroundings of Gladstone’s Library, Hawarden. It was a lovely, intimate little secret event featuring me, amazingly talented performance poet Sophie McKeand, the moving writing talents (not to mention recording skills) of Kemal Houghton and a beautiful coming-of-age piece from Luned DeSimon. I met some absolutely lovely people there and we were all given posies of violets and lemon balm as a thank you for reading. The recording will eventually be broadcast on Vintage Radio – I’ll post the link when it’s up.
  • I was feeling pretty disillusioned (again) yesterday with the writing industry and the whole mechanism and concept of ‘success’ so I switched off my phone and laptop and hid in the attic for ten hours, during which time I built a little book by hand from start to finish, with no stopping for breaks, just because I felt like it. To say it cheered me up is an understatement. I’m quite proud of this flammable little volume, which I’ve named ‘matchbook’, and will shortly be making copies of it available to anyone who wants them, for free. All you have to do is ask. No really – just ask! Watch my social media for updates.
  • Finally, please read this amazing review of Spirit Houses by the incredibly talented Alys Earl. I’m totally floored by it.

Do what you love, love what you do, and dig that underground – peace out, fairytale creatures :-*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

