Skip to content

365 lies: new flash fiction collection for 2014 from Die Booth

July 4, 2014

I’ve been off the radar for a while now because I’ve been head down editing my book for this year.
Some people may know that I spent 2013 writing one flash fiction every day because it seemed like a good idea at the time. I had intentions of publishing the resulting collection of stories anyway but life happened and the idea sort of gathered momentum and I had inspiration from some great people and now I’m intending to release it in November (in time for Christmas, hint hint – it’s a great book to start a new year with, you can leave it by your toilet and read a story a day!) All profits will go to charity.

I’ll write about this in more detail soon, when it’s more concrete. All the stories are written, but I’m currently having trouble with a) a title and b) images.

Title: Throughout 2013 I referred to it as ‘One a Day’ which is the most boring and generic title anything could ever have. Now I’m tentatively referring to it as ‘365 lies’. Any opinions would be gratefully received – would you buy a book with that title? Would it pique your curiosity? Would it put you off? Should it be written in letters or numbers?

Images: The one big advantage to self publishing, in my opinion, is you can have complete creative control over your work. Which essentially means that everything I publish ever is going to have pictures in, because PICTURES. This one’s going to be illustrated with one photograph for every month, taken from my giant collection of analogue photos I’ve taken over the years. I managed to shortlist some favourites and then converted them to black and white and discarded any that didn’t work. Now I’m down to 43 images which I have to pick 12 from. This may be difficult.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2014 8:58 am

    First off, congrats on managing to write a story per day! :) 365 Lies is a good title in my opinion, and definitely something that would catch my eye. I think numbers would look good, though I’d suggest looking at both and deciding which one you prefer.

    Best of luck on picking the images!

    • July 16, 2014 5:29 pm

      Hey, thank you ever so much – it was certainly a commitment, more so even than I was expecting! Thanks also for the title feedback – I think from the opinions I’ve had, 365 Lies is what I’m going to go with :)

Leave a Reply

