Skip to content

The Essar Chester Literature Festival 2013

November 14, 2013

A little belated, but this year’s Chester Literature Festival definitely deserves a mention from me. It was another wonderful fortnight that did the organisers proud once again (I’m on the Festival Committee so I see all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to bring such a fantastic event to Chester each year).

Highlights for me included a captivating evening listening to Frank Cottrell Boyce tell the story behind Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and a fascinating talk from Professor Emma Rees about her book ‘The Vagina: a literary and cultural history’. 

I was also lucky to be involved again as part of two of the festival fringe events. I read my flash fiction ‘The vendy’, alongside a list of very talented local authors, at the Chester Writers evening. I also got the opportunity to take part in my first debate alongside Helen Jennings, thanks to the Chester Debating Society – I opposed ‘This house believes that Twilight has brainwashed a generation’ and it certainly gave me food for thought about Twilight.

You can see my photographs from the festival on my Facebook page. Here’s to the 2014 festival!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

