Skip to content

Just released! Spirit Houses praxinoscope book trailer

July 25, 2013

So, my novel Spirit Houses has been finished and finalised for quite a while now, but I’ve been lagging a bit on getting it actually released. This is due entirely to the fact that I’m self-publishing it and I’m very aware that I don’t want to rush anything and make mistakes. I’ve some experience of self-publishing but this is my first time really solo (despite my very supportive friends and fellow writers!) and it’s proving a lot more nerve-wracking than when I co-edited Re-Vamp and L.C. Hu was there to bounce ideas around with.

That said, you can be too perfectionist so I’ve decided to finally kick off the launch with my first teaser trailer for Spirit Houses (first of many related videos, you’ve been warned!). This was made in about 30 minutes over a weekend with There’s Only Alice’s Sarah Grant that featured coffee shop cabaret, Japanese pop-culture and custard as a vodka-mixer – I guess we were feeling creative! Even though it’s not a very smooth werewolf transition (but – do those even exist, I ask you?!) I’m quite happy with the effect (and the entirely-on-purpose final frame *ahem*) My friend Katie Sawyer had sent me a DIY praxinoscope kit, which led us to lose a whole afternoon looking into the very first animations – praxinoscopes, zoetropes and phenakistoscopes. It’s a fascinating subject and one I’m going to revisit. I’m already experimenting with phenakistoscope slides – just look what can be achieved with them!

Anyway, here’s my very simple praxinoscope teaser trailer (which you can, you know, feel free to share..!) and watch out for more Spirit Houses revelations to appear very soon…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2013 10:24 pm

    Just brilliant, Die!

    • August 2, 2013 9:46 am

      Aw, thank you Clare! And thanks for promoting it for me as well :)

Leave a Reply

