Skip to content

Happy National Flash Fiction Day! Here’s my contribution…

June 22, 2013

So, with it being National Flash Fiction Day today, and considering I’m currently right in the middle of my one-a-day flash writing project, I thought I best post something! This one’s my March 30th story, hope you enjoy it.

Landing

The looped carpet fibre presses a high crescent along my cheekbone. Unfurling without focus into the distance, it looks like desert road

Like sand dunes

Rough

Oatmeal

Each carpet fibre a neat, tight loop, lying like giant knitting. The pressure of the weave against my cheek is starting to hurt, a burn like sandpaper, but I am still. The floor is very hard. In the stillness the tiny sounds distil, the hollow noise of water in pipes, air in chimneys.

Wind outside

Traffic outside

A distant ticking

The echo in my ear pressed against the floor that sounds like the ocean in a shell, the tiny tickling scuttle of carpet fibres, the beat of my own blood.

Above me the stair bannisters tower like Parthenon columns. There is an undulating tide where gloss paint has set, thick. A black rubber swipe like a tyre skid where the vacuum cleaner has hit, failing to pick up the tangle of hairs that bristle between carpet and skirting.

The heat from the radiator is desert sun, a wall against my left side. The radiator pipe rises, bracketed to the wall with a little metal crescent that’s stamped TC 8-12, the tiny numbers almost obscured beneath layers of paint.

All I can smell is artificial warmth – a little like sea air, and wool. Wait – the faint fragrance of washing; a winter smell, a powdery laundry taste on the air that catches at the back of my throat.

Downstairs, the pounding on the door resumes. I catch my breath. My eyes water.

The banging stops.

Then it starts again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2013 2:11 pm

    Today I keep finding flash fiction posts which include references to things I have written essays about… it’s weird.
    I really love this piece, you’ve included such wonderful detail.

    • June 24, 2013 6:47 pm

      Hi Carol, thanks so much for the comment! What was it that you wrote the essay about that this piece brought to mind? Really glad you enjoyed it.

      • June 24, 2013 7:40 pm

        I wrote an essay an essay examining the moral and legal debates surrounding The Elgin Marbles which are statues removed from the Parthenon by Lord Elgin in the 19th century.

Leave a Reply

