Skip to content

Castle Park: a very soggy Solstice

June 22, 2012

Yesterday evening saw the Castle Park Summer Solstice event, which unfortunately fell foul of the weather as many of this ‘summer’s’ events have! It was such a shame to see drenched performers running for shelter after braving the elements for an understandably disappointing turnout, but a credit to everyone involved that it all went ahead anyway.

I was lucky to be involved in one of the indoor events – readings from Chester Writers’ in the lovely setting of the Conservatory. The readings all followed a vague theme of ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’. I read a short story that I had written for the event, entitled ‘Midsummer Men’. Other people to read were George Horsham, Ian Edmonds, John Ivor Jones, Austin Wilde, Clare Dudman, Ian Cai Mercer – and not forgetting Mr Tiglet the tiger!

In spite of the terrible weather, it was a lovely evening, and I was glad to also take the opportunity to check out the Midsummer themed art gallery exhibitions (I was particularly impressed with the pinhole photography) in the fantastic, picturesque venue of Castle Park in Frodsham.

Chester Writers at Castle Park

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2012 12:00 am

    a ‘vague theme’ Yes, so vague that I never followed it!!!

    • June 27, 2012 6:41 pm

      Haha hence ‘vague’ – I don’t think anyone minded that a few people varied the theme a bit!

  2. June 27, 2012 7:53 pm

    Yes, I made a fleeting visit too – I’m going to have to go there again some time – a great venue!

    • June 28, 2012 10:23 am

      I hadn’t been there since I was a kid, they’ve made the gardens really lovely now :-)

  3. Tink73 permalink
    July 2, 2012 1:58 pm

    Its a beautiful park, regularly used by locals and out of Town Visitors. The people who were performing/organising the event were mainly volunteers and did a wonderful job with the information available to them. The weather as you must accept is out of anyones control. It was a very enjoyable event.

    • July 2, 2012 7:36 pm

      It certainly is a beautiful park – as I mentioned in this post, I’ll definitely be visiting more often in future. It was a shame that the weather was so bad when everyone had worked so hard to put on such a great event. I was one of those volunteer performers, but luckily I got to perform indoors! Definitely a most enjoyable event.

Leave a Reply

