Skip to content

Two acceptances in one week? Unheard of!

May 23, 2012

It really is about time I checked in to this blog and updated.

The reason for my prolonged absence has been, unsurprisingly, that I’ve been writing. Writing, writing, writing. Writing even more than is usual for me, a person who considers themself a writer.

I think one of the reasons for this writing flurry may be that I am currently supposed to be editing and… well, you know how it goes. After Re-Vamp last year and then several months spent honing the novel (which as yet has no firm publication date planned) I missed actively creating stories too much and decided to set myself some unrealistic goals. Submit to the open call anthologies. ALL OF THEM. I’ve been singing the praises of www.horrortree.com in regards to this endeavor – it’s a listing site that really does list every single open call going, and with its help, along with a good deal more searching around the interwebs, I’ve managed to get an unprecedented amount of story submissions sent off in the past month.

So, coming up we have: ‘Waifs’, to be published in Prime’s ‘Bloody Fabulous’ anthology which is due out on October 30th 2012 and you can pre-order it on Amazon. ‘Phantoms’ to be published in issue 4 of The Fiction Desk, which is a beautiful and high quality quarterly. And ‘This is the life’ to be published in the ‘Work’ issue of Litro, London’s leading short-story magazine. I’m very pleased indeed about that one, as I’d assumed a while ago that it was a rejection, only to be told that there’s been a slight delay in publication schedule due to editorial changes. I was also delighted to receive a very succint bit of praise for the story in question “It’s a beautifully insidious concept with a nice sting in the tail!”

I’m also looking forward to reading out a new Solstice themed piece entitled ‘Midsummer men’ at the Castle Park ‘Midsummer Night’s Dream’ festival in Castle Park, Frodsham, on Thursday 21 June. Myself and other Chester Writers members will be reading out in the conservatory from 8pm on the night and the event promises to be an excellent one, with lots of poetry, dance, installations and an art exhibition.

Finally, I am also scheduled to give a talk on DIY publishing as part of the 2012 Chester Literature Festival. This session is provisionally set for lunchtime on October 17, but I’ll post details as soon as I have them.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 4:48 pm

    When it rains, it pours? Honestly I can’t think of anyone more deserving than you.

    • May 23, 2012 4:49 pm

      Congrats!!! Is how I meant to end that, and then hit reply too quickly. :P

    • May 23, 2012 4:50 pm

      Thank you so much! I’m so happy because I really have been working hard at the shorts submissions lately and it’s paid off – which is really the way things should work, hey? Now, let’s hope it keeps on pouring publish-y rain on both of us!

  2. John Jones permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:19 am

    Die ,great stuff,i look forward to reading them!
    regards
    John

    • May 30, 2012 3:35 pm

      Thank you :-) I read a bit of one of them out at Chester Writers actually, so you might recognise it!

  3. May 28, 2012 6:05 pm

    Well done! – Such hard work. I feel I need a lie down…

    • May 30, 2012 3:37 pm

      Thank you! Hehe, knowing how hard you work, if that makes ~you~ need a lie down, I must be doing something right :-) I’m so pleased though, it’s nice to finally get a couple of acceptances!

  4. June 19, 2012 11:25 am

    Hi Die – Paul Lavin has alerted me to your work and to the slot at the Chester LitFest on Oct 17th. Love the blog, and congrats on your recent successes. I’ve planned a blog but never quite got round to it. Also, though a Chester writer for 40 years, have tended to plug away on my own rather than join a group. Have now got 2 publications on e-book, one novel ‘Flesh & Bronze’ (written while on the MA at MMU) and a collection of short stories. Would be glad to chat some time!

    • June 22, 2012 4:12 pm

      Hi Alison, thanks for the comment (and the congrats!) I’ve just checked out your website – really impressive back catalogue there! Some of the titles are very familiar as well, I’m sure I’ve read a few pieces of your work in the past. Very happy to chat whenever, my email is die.booth[at]gmail.com

  5. June 27, 2012 7:49 pm

    Congratulations, Die! I’m not at all surprised at your success – just desserts!

    • June 28, 2012 10:24 am

      Thanks Clare :-) Just need them to actually get published now (for some reason I never actually ‘believe’ it until I can hold the print editions in my hands!!)

Leave a Reply

