Skip to content

Let me tell you a story…

December 20, 2010

Yesterday in an act of borderline masochism, me and Justin Owen spent the afternoon in sub zero temperatures in the Water Tower Gardens, filming for a video clip of me reading my Cheshire Prize for Literature story ‘The Dust Bunnies’.

The filming (well, Justin did all the work – for my part I was mainly involved in trying not to fall down steps, running around in the snow and getting a very cold rear on a snow covered bench) went very well. It was only really interrupted once, by some Japanese tourists stopping to take photographs of us. The reading I am assured went very well too, although I’m sure I’ll be dying inside when I see myself on camera.

Having recently got in touch again through the Words Behind Walls creative group, this has really given us the chance to do a few little joint creative projects together – because working with someone is always a lot more fun and rewarding than working alone. It’s given me the chance to put some of my work out there without having to publish in print on the web and also to branch out into a new and interesting creative format. It’s also given Justin something else to film, even if it’s just me reading!

If this first experiment proves successful then we’ll hopefully be doing some more collaborations in the future – not only more story readings from me (keeping the oral storytelling traditions alive for the twenty first century!) but possibly video trailers for the ReVamp! and Whispers From the Walled City anthologies and maybe even a short film.

Watch this space (literally) in 2011!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Imp permalink
    December 20, 2010 9:51 pm

    Sounds exciting!

    Did you get footage of the Japanese tourists taking pictures of you…? ;p

    • December 30, 2010 9:50 am

      I think we probably did – I didn’t see them because they were walking behind me, but Justin was definitely laughing and we had to stop filming!

Leave a Reply

