Skip to content

Fearful Leaps into the Dark

June 27, 2010

So, Sunday morning, and I am again staring into the maw of another impending week at the office. The slight difference this week is that this could potentially be the last full week for a while.

It’s either the best idea I’ve ever had or the most stupid: I’m halving my work hours in order to concentrate on writing. The obvious down-side to this stellar plan is that obviously the money I earn will be halved too. The theory is that I’m essentially buying back my own time – I’ve not been getting enough writing done for a long while now, being too tired when I get home from a full day in front of a computer to concentrate properly on the creative stuff. Well, now I have an extra two and a half days per week so I may complete the novel yet. Speculate to accumulate *insert a million other cliches here* and all that.

I don’t think it’s really sunk in yet. The good part, I mean. All that is really standing out so far is that I’m soon going to be down to around £10 disposable income per week, but alongside the financial woe, there’s going to be a massive time benefit. I guess I don’t have any frame of reference for having actual time to myself in the week though, seeing as I’ve not known that in over ten years: all I can see at the moment is an additional problem, when really it’s just swapping one problem for another, hopefully more manageable, problem.

It seems like the right thing to do.

I never wanted to get funnelled into the trap of job-television-sleep and all that rubbish society dictates that you’re supposed to value. I’m out now and I will not regret it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Milla permalink
    June 27, 2010 10:03 am

    Steadfast, and open sail.

Leave a Reply

