Skip to content

Begin at the very beginning

December 10, 2009

Oops, too late.

Well, it’s not the beginning but I suppose it’s a beginning and a fairly adequate, if not very good, place to start.

I should probably promise that these blog posts will get wittier or something (they won’t) when I’m not so blue-arsed-fly* about things but right now I’m procrastinating because I don’t want to go to the gym and also well aware that 1) there is a new (old) wardrobe upstairs that needs cleaning out before 2) friends stay over for a Florence and the Machine gig tonight that 3) means this morning is the only time this week I’ll get chance to go to the gym and this morning is going to technically be over in an hour and 15 minutes and 4) I haven’t eaten yet today. So, all as organised as usual, then.

What I really should be saying is that last night I spend a quality evening at the High Sheriff’s Cheshire Prize for Literature Awards, where my story ‘The Audsley Chimera’ picked up a special commendation. This means not only will it be published in the Prize Anthology next year, but the first paragraph was also read out most wonderfully by Tim Firth (pause for some fannish squealing there) who was totally fantastic and gracious and also gave a brilliant talk on ‘the five rings of writing’.

The Cheshire Prize and Chester University as a whole have done a lot for me, getting me initially published, which is of course a great confidence boost to any writer starting out. I’m very grateful to them for that.

Well. New blog, new website. Hopefully 2010 will be a good year for my writing. But right now I have to go and humiliate myself with some 5lb weights.

* blue-arsed-fly – is it me or does that sound like some kind of zombie-gangsta fashion statement?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

